A Day in Delhi..

Day 1:

One fine morning, Neetha called me to say that she is leaving to Netherlands to join Ruthwik. As usual, and like a tradition being followed for years, before she leave, we have to meet each other for a day or two 😀 . I thought of going to Bangalore, but then, why all time Bangalore, why not some other place? I don’t wanna go to Bangalore; neither Neetha wanted to come to Trivandrum, as we both have been to these places.

It was at this time, she told me that she had to go to Mumbai or Delhi for her visa stamping, and the idea stuck my mind. I told her that we will catch up either in Mumbai or Delhi for a change. Neetha opted Delhi as she never been there and I was ready for any of those two places. Neetha flew two days before me to finish off the formalities while I left a day later to join her. I reached Delhi on a hot Friday morning in July.

The drive from Delhi’s airport to Hotel Justa, Panchasheel Park was a hectic one, as it was too hot, humid and the traffic of Delhi sucks. It took about an hour and a half to reach the hotel where Neetha waited for me. After pleasantries, I refreshed and the first plan was to go and meet some of my seniors and then visit my aunt who stays in Safdarjung.

As I couldn’t meet my seniors in the afternoon for some reasons, we decided to meet my aunt at a place near to our accommodation rather than travelling all the way to Safdarjung, so that we can save some time and roam around the city. The place has been decided as Sarojini Nagar market, as Neetha wanted to buy some stuff and see the real Delhi (though I didn’t understand what exactly she wanted to see :-p). It was noon when we reached Sarojini Nagar and stepped into the famous Haldiram’s outlet where our aunt joined us over lunch and some sweets 😉

It’s shopping time! The time which I always try to avoid. But this time, I couldn’t :-p . Sarojini Nagar market is quite a happening place with lots of shops selling clothes, accessories and other stuff and buzzes with people all time. The shop-keepers do their business not only in the shops, but also on the roads 🙂 . Neetha and aunty were quite busy in choosing their outfits while I kept myself busy watching the happenings around us. And it was at this time, I heard a whistle from a distance and soon the shop-keepers started clearing their stuff off the roads.

img_20160715_163620

Within minutes, the roads were clear with lot of space and we saw a truck with people sitting on the back and dumping all the stuff they come across on the roads. Aunty explained us that they are the Kamety log (the Municipality people) who raid the streets every now and then to keep a check on such kind of illegal encroachments by the shop-keepers. It was fun watching the funda of clearing the roads in a few minutes and restoring all of them again when once the truck is gone 🙂 🙂

Aunt asked about our next day plan and we told her that we were thinking to visit Agra and didn’t decide yet whether we have to hire a car or go by a train. But we decided to hire a car later and aunt helped us with this. Once done with the shopping, we rushed back to Dwaraka to catch up my seniors and after a brief chit-chat we left to Janpath market area. This is yet another hot-spot for shopaholics and an ideal place to hang out with friends. Soon after the shopping, we checked into a Marathi restaurant in Connaught Place, where the food is ok-ok.

It was around 9.30 pm when we reached our accommodation and retired to our beds as we have to wake up early the next day!

Leave a Reply

