The Qualifying Character

DSCF1302

… It was a decisive day for me… Yes, my pain had overridden my conscience and I had to decide between the trek and my pain. A portion of my mind was with me to carry the trek forward without abandoning it after the first step, but a strong another quarter was deeply worried about the injured leg as I was barely able to move ahead, in a literal sense. Neetha gave me the support and push I lacked from within. She was literally my backbone of the trek that day and far ahead. She kept a watch on me consciously as I was juggling through the pain pinch and the trek.

The concept of Mother India (MoIn) originated from this trek since the rest of the members started iterating the fact that Neetha was care taking just like a way a mother would do to her kid. I relished that attention from a very close soul which I admired the most (still do!)

It was the final day of our felicitation when we came to know of our guide Pemba’s story. Pemba is a young boy from the Sherpa community and the sole supporter of his family in the absence of his father. He has remained to be an inspiration not just for me but many others who have gotten to know about him and his experience through the journey of life.When we (almost around 40 of us) heard his story, everyone was sympathetic but Neetha couldn’t control it on her tears. She left us all behind, shutting off her doors to be solace. Later once she could console herself, she came out to address the boy as her own younger brother.

Neetha is in constant touch with Pemba even today and the boy is all in praise of her sister when we both speak. This nature of Neetha has always made her special to me! When I think of these days when we all rush against the pillars and posts and leave behind no time for ourselves, these memories overtake as they are not so long in the past. We are in an era where love, affection and care if not expressed and extended will become extinct and take its place in the labs and museums.

Neetha and I had to bid adieu to each other as well, as it was the final day of our trek and I was heading towards my place and she her uncle’s place Kurseong. No heavy thoughts and emotional drama! A small sigh of touch from her end, and a warm hug from mine were extended when our minds did not think to see when our paths would cross again!

It used to be just a few simple text messages and not even WhatsApp or FB since MoIn had a basic version of mobile for texts and calls. Am a quick responder to texts or pings or calls, but she isn’t which sometimes pushed me off the pace since my texts if not responded, the calls would go unnoticed as well. This was because of the fact that she is far from the e-era of communication. She was (and is) closer to her heart’s era of “living the simple life”!

Don’t you want to know how this woman is expecting calls or texts from me these days when my phone goes silent, knowingly or unknowingly? Stay Tuned to relish the spice…

Leave a Reply

