MOM – The strongest I have met

Articulating on the word “strongest” makes me realize that the only Woman I will have that word reverberate is when I associate it with my MOM. A little black and white shade as we rewind the journey to her childhood days and when her elder sister got married, it was in her seventh grade. Her brother remained with their grandparents when she and elder sister continued staying with parents. Time being the best teacher and trait, as years flung, my mom completed her tenth grade with the best of her abilities when her parents had to relocate to Vishakapatnam owing to her Father’s transfer.

Time brings with the ticking hands of pleasure and pain to balance the body, mind and soul. When my mom was in her Intermediate, she had to see her father succumb to a fatal lung infection. There was a hole in the family from the previous wholesomeness. They moved back to Vizianagaram where her father had constructed a home. With a son and two daughters the responsibilities grew Himalayan fold on my granny’s shoulders; my mom stood by her side and as a back bone to shoulder some of it equally. The act of juggling studies with animal husbandry along with agricultural and house hold chores has been best learnt and enacted upon by my mom.

Her father was 42 when he touched the land of his heaven. The reflection on others age will send a strong signal as to what mental stamina would have been prevailing. But, my mom discontinued her studies in order to support the household with the final settlement from grandpa’s service and an addition saved through such cuts reserved her elder sister’s marriage. Once the elder sister was married off, mom and granny still had the post-marriage cultural routine that had to be performed from a girl’s side in order to keep the balance of marriage under control.

The courage, bravery, responsibility and hope that was carried out and reflected in each and every quarter of the journey of her life by being herself and not letting her family down at any cost, had indeed united a thread of gene between me and my mom. The entire village had revered the services of my grand mom and mom to dedicate all that they had to their family, unitedly and with all the hope under the sun. As there is nothing called as a stopped clock, since it could be just the batteries, so is the ticking tong of my mom’s marriage …

Leave a Reply

