Some historical facts

Ilbert Bill – gave Indian magistrates the right to try Europeans in criminal cases

1883 – full codification of the Indian system of law and procedure

Bhaulabhai Desai – advocate famous at the INA trials

The first National Congress deliberated upon nine resolutions concerning various issues

EVR Naicker –  launched the radical social movement called the ‘Self-Respect Movement’

The Justice party – formed by TN Nair, RT Chetti, CN Mudaliar

Satya Sodhak Movement – Jotirao Phule

Satya Sodhak Samaj – Chhatrapati Shahu Maharaj

Bangadarshan (Book) – Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay (Author)

Saraswati Chiplunkar (Book) – Govardhan M Tripathi (Author)

Bharat Durdasha (Book) – Bhartendu Harishchandra (Author)

Nibandhamalahmala (Book) – Vishnu Krishna (Author)

Andher Nagari Chaupata Raja (Play) was written by Bhartendu Harishchandra (Author)

Kuki revolt – Tripura

Kuka revolt – Punjab

Pabna Peasant Revolt – Bengal

Birsa Munda’s revolt – Bihar

Hindu counterparts to the movements of Tabligh and Tanzim – Shudhi and Sangathan

3 thoughts on “Some historical facts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s